Canyon Speedmax CF scoops German Design Award

It is the most elaborate development in the 25 year history of Canyon Bicycles. The Canyon development team, which consists of engineers, experts in aerodynamics, production materials specialists and the creative minds of the design office Artefakt from Darmstadt, has succeeded in constructing a perfect time-trial bike which represents a fusion of technology and design on the highest level possible.
True to the basic principle of “form follows function” every little detail on the frame was carefully thought through and all the components – from the fork, stem and handlebar right through to the perfectly integrated brakes – were designed right from scratch and perfectly matched to the bike’s area of use.

Beim Speedmax CF verschmelzen echnik und Design auf allerhöchstem Niveau miteinander

The international design community is as one in giving the fastest Canyon time-trial weapon raving reviews.
We are pleased to announce that the Speedmax CF has won the German Design Council’s premium prize the German Design Award 2013 in the category of Transportation and Public Space.

After winning the red dot best of the best product design award 2012 and the Eurobike Award in the very same year, this is already the third illustrious award this year for the Speedmax CF.

“The Speedmax CF is a perfect marriage of function, form and high-tech materials.” This was the opening remark in the Jury’s verdict.
The jury commented further, “Each detail has been engineered for pure speed: from the drop-shape tubular cross sections of the frame, fork and seat tube inspired by aerofoils and designed prevent air turbulence to maximum rigidity at minimum weight thanks to the use of innovative carbon composite materials – the result is a new aesthetic quality that nevertheless reflects the distinct personality of the Canyon brand. The fact that the brand mark type goes against the headwind makes for a particularly striking feature. The ultimate time trial bike that has been stripped down to nothing but speed and sets the benchmark in bike racing. Innovation at its best.”

The German Design Award 2013 comprises 10 different categories ranging from products for daily life right through to digital media. In every category alongside the gold award winners there are also 10 further prize winners.

The numerous appearances in the pro peloton demonstrate that the Speedmax CF is not just a dream bike in terms of design, but is also a technological masterpiece. During the team time-trial at the 2012 Giro d’Italia the UCI World Tour-team Katusha delivered a sensational performance and secured an outstanding second place in the event. Just a few weeks later Katusha pro Denis Menchov won the Russian national championship on board his Speedmax CF.

Der russische Zeitfahrmeister und Katusha Profi Denis Menchov auf dem Speedmax CF / Foto: Tino Pohlmann/Canyon

The Speedmax CF sets benchmarks in the aerodynamics, flexibility and system integration stakes. Thanks to the cockpit designed by Canyon the rider has the most diverse range of set-up options using varying combinations of stem, handlebar, extensions and spacers. This gives triathletes and time-triallists alike optimum flexibility.

Triathlon Profi Markus Fachbach auf dem Speedmax CF / Foto: Tino Pohlmann/Canyon

Perfect system integration for maximum aerodynamics – the fastest time-trial bike in the world is set to cause quite a stir in the pro peloton in 2013.

Sag uns Deine Meinung

Kommentare

Powered by Facebook Comments

Comments are closed.

Canyon Speedmax CF mit German Design Award ausgezeichnet

Es ist das aufwendigste Entwicklungsprojekt in der über 25-jährigen Firmengeschichte von Canyon. Dem Entwicklungsteam bestehend aus Ingenieuren, Aerodynamikern, Werkstoff-Spezialisten und den kreativen Köpfen des Designbüros Artefakt aus Darmstadt ist es gelungen ein perfektes Zeitfahrrad zu konstruieren, bei dem Technik und Design auf allerhöchstem Niveau miteinander verschmelzen.
Getreu dem Grundsatz „form follows function“ wurde jedes kleinste Detail am Rahmen durchdacht und alle Komponenten – von der Gabel über Vorbau, Lenker bis zu den perfekt integrierten Bremsen – wurden von Grund auf neu konstruiert und perfekt auf den Einsatzbereich abgestimmt.

Beim Speedmax CF verschmelzen echnik und Design auf allerhöchstem Niveau miteinander

Die Designwelt ist sich einig und lobt das schnellste Zeitfahrad der Welt in den höchsten Tönen.
Wir freuen uns bekannt geben zu dürfen, dass das Canyon Speedmax CF den internationalen Premiumpreis des Rat für Formgebung „German Design Award 2013“ in der Kategorie public & transportation gewonnen hat.

Nach der Krönung mit dem red dot: best of the best 2012 und dem Eurobike Award ist dies bereits die dritte hochkaratige Auszeichnung in diesem Jahr für das Speedmax CF.

„Das Speedmax CF ist eine perfekte Symbiose aus Funktion, Formgebung und High-Tech-Materialien.“ So lautet der erste Satz der Jurybegründung.

„Jedes Detail ist auf Geschwindigkeit ausgelegt: dem Tragflächenprofil von Flugzeugen nachempfundene tropfenförmige Rohrquerschnitte an Rahmen, Gabel und Sattelstütze, die Luftverwirbelungen unterbinden sowie maximale Steifigkeit dank neuartiger Kohlenstofffaserverbundwerkstoffe bei minimalem Gewicht – die Konsequenz ist eine neue Ästhetik, die zugleich die unverwechselbare Persönlichkeit der Marke Canyon widerspiegelt. Markant und originell ist die gegen den Strom laufende Typo der Wortbildmarke. Ein auf Geschwindigkeit reduziertes, ultimatives Zeitfahrrad, das in jeder Hinsicht Maßstäbe setzt. Extrem innovativ.“

Der „German Design Award 2013“ umfasst insgesamt zehn verschiedene Kategorien von Bereichen des täglichen Lebens bis hin zu digitalen Medien.

Dass das Speedmax CF nicht nur ein Designtraum, sondern auch ein technisches Meisterstück ist, beweisen die zahlreichen erfolgreichen Einsätze im Profipeloton 2012. Beim Mannschaftszeitfahren des Giro d’Italia lieferte das UCI WorldTour-Team Katusha eine sensationelle Leistung ab und sicherte sich einen hervorragenden zweiten Platz. Wenige Wochen später gewann Katusha Profi Denis Menchov auf seiner Zeitfahrmaschine Canyon Speedmax CF die russischen Zeitfahrmeisterschaften.

Der russische Zeitfahrmeister und Katusha Profi Denis Menchov auf dem Speedmax CF / Foto: Tino Pohlmann/Canyon

Das Speedmax CF setzt Maßstäbe in puncto Aerodynamik, Flexibilität und Systemintegration und bietet dank hauseigenem Canyon Cockpit mit unterschiedlichsten Kombinationsmöglichkeiten von Vorbau, Basislenker, Extensions und Spacern volle Flexibilität für Triathleten und Zeitfahrspezialisten gleichermaßen.

Triathlon Profi Markus Fachbach auf dem Speedmax CF / Foto: Tino Pohlmann/Canyon

Perfekte Systemintegration für maximale Aerodynamik, das schnellste Zeitfahrrad der Welt wird das Profipeloton 2013 kräftig aufmischen.

Sag uns Deine Meinung

Kommentare

Powered by Facebook Comments

Comments are closed.